Board of Directors

About our President

Paulina Roche, President

Paulina Roche, President

Paulina Roche was elected to the Native Women’s Association of the NWT on March 14, 2013 as the President of the Association for a 3 year term.

Mrs. Roche was born in Deline, Northwest Territories, formerly called Fort Franklin. Although born to the family of late Johnny and Jane Neyelle she was raised by late Arsene and Cecile Tetso, and is the youngest of the Tetso family.

Mrs. Roche’s early education was spent at Grollier Hall while she attended high school in
Inuvik, Northwest Territories. She also studied at Aurora College in Ft Smith where she
received her Diploma in Business Administration.

Mrs. Roche sits on several councils, a Councillor for the Charter Community of Deline, Deline
Housing Association, Status of Women’s Council, and Appeal Committee for Social Income.  She also volunteers for the community sports, wellness and traditional programs in Deline, a volunteer for Foster Coalition of the NWT and recently won the Community Builder Award.

Mrs. Roche has been nominated in the past for the Wise Women Awards and was recently selected to attend the 2012 Arctic Winter Games for Mission Staff in Whitehorse, Yukon.  Mrs. Roche has been married to Kevin Roche for 17 years and has 4 boys ~ Carson (18), Jake (17), Dallas (15) and Baby John (13).

Board of Directors

Native Women’s Association of the NWT’s Board consists of 7 regional directors, 1 elder, and 1 youth representative. The Board is lead by an Executive Committee and is also supported by Elders.

Executive Committee

President, Paulina Roche
Vice President, Liza Pieper
Secretary/Treasurer, Shirley Tsetta

Regional Board of Directors

North Slave:

Mackenzie Delta Regional Director, Mable Brown
1. Fort McPherson
2. Tsiigehtchic
3. Aklavik
4. Inuvik

Beaufort Regional Director, Annie Goose
1. Tuktoyaktuk
2. Sachs Harbour
3. Paulatuk
4. Holman

Sahtu Regional Director, Vacant
1. Fort Good Hope
2. Colville Lake
3. Tulita
4. Norman Wells
5. Deline

South Slave:

Deh Cho Regional Director, Emma Amundson
1. Fort Simpson
2. Fort Liard
3. Nahanni Butte
4. Jean Marie River
5. Trout Lake
6. Wrigley
7. Fort Providence
8. Hay River Reserve
9. Kakisa Lake

North Great Slave Regional Director, Jane Weyallon
1. Behchoko
2. Gameti
3. Wekweti
4. Whati

South Slave Regional Director, Therese (Terry) Villeneuve
1. Fort Smith
2. Fort Resolution
3. Lutsel K’e
4. Hay River
5. Fort Fitzgerald

Weledeh Regional Directorvacant
1. Yellowknife
2. Dettah
3. N’Dilo


South/North Elder, Annie Modeste


South/North Youth representative:  Jessie MacKenzie